Ed Van Dusen Legacy Award


The Ed Van Dusen Legacy Award for Exemplary Practice in Child Abuse Prevention, or “The Ed” for short, is an annual award created by the members of the Idaho Children’s Trust Fund Board to recognize and reward a particular child abuse prevention effort in Idaho that is creative, innovative and impacts the community in a positive way by preventing the abuse and neglect of children.

Ed Van Dusen might rightly be called the “Father of the Idaho Children’s Trust Fund” because of his role in getting the organization established in 1985. After his death in 2009, the Trust Fund’s board renamed its “Board Award” in his honor.

Winner of the 2024 Ed Van Dusen Legacy Award

Idaho Coalition for Community Schools

The Idaho Coalition for Community Schools is a group of Community Schools practitioners, leaders, and partners who are committed to promoting the Community School strategy throughout the state of Idaho. Their purpose is to provide a means for local and state community schools stakeholders to connect, deepen knowledge and skills, and advocate for supportive policies.

Past “The Ed” Award Recipients:

2024- Idaho Coalition for Community Schools

2023- Full Circle Health

2022- Bikers Against Bullies Idaho Falls Chapter

2021- No Award Due to Covid

2020- Protect Idaho Kids

2019- The Mahoney House

2018 – Bannock Youth Foundation

2017 – Family Services Alliance of Southeast Idaho

2016 – The Idaho Foster Youth Advisory Board

2015 – Family Advocates

2014 – Giraffe Laugh

2012 – Research and Service Navigation/ Idaho KinCare Project, Statewide

2011 – The ICARE Program of St. Vincent DePaul, Coeur d’Alene

2010 – Idaho Association for the Education of Young Children

2009 – Easter Seals-Goodwill

2008 – Help, Inc

Nominations for “The Ed” Award

Eligibility for Application

Any agency or organization engaged in efforts to prevent child abuse and neglect in Idaho is eligible. This includes, but is not limited to: non-profits, government agencies, schools, hospitals, foster parents, faith communities, child care centers, coalitions, private counseling centers, homeless shelters, and service clubs. A legacy award winner may not be nominated again.


The efforts to prevent child abuse and neglect undertaken by the nominee should be innovative, creative, collaborative, able to be replicated, have a positive impact on the community, receive community support, and occur in Idaho. Every year the ICTF board convenes to decide which organization will receive The Ed award!


The winner of “The Ed” will receive a $1,000 monetary award to be used to continue their efforts to prevent child abuse and neglect in Idaho. The winner will also receive public recognition through the ICTF’s website, newsletter, and any other available media. All recipients must provide ICTF with a letter describing the work undertaken with the award prior to the next Strengthening Families Training Institute.